Thursday, July 14, 2011

Types of Fast (Roza) Compulsory, Optional & Prohibited Fasts

Fard/Farz (Unavoidable/Obvious/Compulsory)
Fasting during the month of “Ramadan al Mubarak”.

Wajib/Wajjib (Necessary/Required)
Fasting for the fulfillment of a vow (promise, guarantee, declare, swear, undertake) or an oath (curse, promise, pledge,).

Sunnat/Sunnah (Needed/Desired)
Fast on the 9th & 10th of “Muharram al Haram”.
Fast on 9th of “Zil Hajj”.
Fast on 13th, 14th & 15th of every Lunar Month (Islamic Month).

Mustahab/Mustahib (Good Conduct/Optional)
Fast during the six (6) days of “Shawwal”.
Fast 15th of Shaban.
Fast on every Monday & Thursday.

Makrooh/Mukrooh (Bad Conduct)
Fast for a “Wife” to keep a Non-Fard (Non-Compulsory) Fast without the permission of her “Husband”.

Haram/Harram (illegal/Banned/Forbidden/Prohibited/Not Allowed)
Fast on the days of both Eids.
Fast on the 11th, 12th & 13th of “Zil Hajj”.

1 comment:

  1. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is great, as well as the content!.
    Web design services
    Learn online quran